Oscar 2010

Oscar excerpts:

Mo’Nique, after winning the Best Supporting Actress Award for the movie “Precious”, talking to the press backstage,

“Everybody, and I don’t care who you are, or what crime you’ve committed, everybody deserves to be loved, even when they’re unlovable.”

In her most memorable line from “Precious, “Mo’Nique’s character asks, “Who else is going to love me? Who else is gonna make me feel good?”
In her acceptance speech, Mo’Nique offered thanks to Hattie McDaniel, she says, “I would like to thank Miss Hattie McDaniel, for enduring what she had to so that I would not have to.” Hattie McDaniel was the actress who became, in 1940, the first black to win an Oscar for the movie “Gone With The Wind”.

I loved those two things that she said.

“Precious” is a film based on the novel Push by author Sapphire starring Gabourey “Gabbie” Sidibe as a Harlem teenager who is pregnant with her second child and trying to overcome illiteracy and childhood abuse. After she is accepted to an alternative school and forms new relationships with a teacher and a nurse, she begins to feel hopeful about her future.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I was secretly rooting for Sandra Bullock to win the Best Actress Award, though I wasn’t really expecting for her to win as this was her first nomination. So I was pleasantly surprised to learn that she did. Her acceptance speech was both funny and touching, she also mentioned the words, “We are all deserving of love.”

I loved her movie, “The Blind Side”. Her performance there was so simple and real, and I want to say that I am fortunate enough to have in my life several people like that.

My favorite lines from that move are “I got your back.” and “All right, then..”. Watch it and you’ll know what I mean. I can actually write a review of the film here, but I’ll save it for later.

“The Blind Side” is the story of Michael Oher, a homeless African-American youngster from a broken home, taken in by the Touhys, a well-to-do white family who help him fulfill his potential. Oher’s presence in the Touhys’ lives leads them to some insightful self-discoveries of their own. Living in his new environment, the teen faces a completely different set of challenges to overcome. As a football player and student, Oher works hard and, with the help of his coaches and adopted family, becomes an All-American offensive left tackle.

Watch it.

Leave a Reply

