Sansrival Cake Recipe

Sans Rival Cake is a Filipino dessert that originated from San Fernando, Pampanga,so as my friend informed me. This sweet cake takes on a layered presentation of cream filling, nuts and bread or biscuits. I have loved this cake since I was a child so I wanted to try to bake it.

Sansrival Recipe
Ingredients:
For Butter Cream Filling:
½ Cup Butter, softened
½ Cup Margarine
1 ¼ Cups Powdered or Confectionary Sugar
1 ¼ teaspoons Vanilla extract

For Base and Nuts:
9 Pcs Graham Crackers
¼ Cup Cashew Nuts, chopped

Procedure:
1. Filling – Whip butter and margarine until smooth. Add in powdered sugar and vanilla extract. Beat until creamy and well-blended. Stir in cashew nuts.
2. Assemble – Lay a piece of plastic wrap (about 12×11 inches) on working area. Spread about ¼ cup chopped cashew nuts evenly on top of plastic wraps*. Spread thick layer of butter cream facing down, side by side over the nuts. Repeat 2 times to make 3 layers.
3. Cover the top and sides with a thick layer of butter cream. Leave about 1/3 cup of buter cream for decoration. Cover with plastic wrap to hold.
4. Chill for 30 minutes. Turn loaf over and unwrap. Serve.

*Use the graham as measurement guide. Chopped nuts should cover length of 3 whole grahams side by side. Use a piping bag to decorate edges of Sansrival with remaining butter cream , you may add about ¼ cup of finely chopped cashew nuts on the side.

My Verdict:
My cake turned out to be too sweet for my taste, and mind you, I have a very sweet tooth! I added 1 more layer of icing on top, so my advice is try not to make a very thick icing filling and topping. Anyway, I loved the cashew nuts combined with the cream filling.

Anyway, next time I do this again,it will be perfect, enjoy baking!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

